Sept. 18 deadline for weather-related unemployment insurance

FRANKFORT, Ky. (WTVQ) — Officials from the Kentucky Education and Workforce Development Cabinet today announced that four Kentucky counties have qualified for Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA).

Kentuckians in Carter, Johnson, Rowan and Trimble counties who have lost work or whose businesses were damaged due to severe weather that occurred from July 11-20, 2015, may be eligible for unemployment insurance benefits.

Farmers and self-employed people, who are normally not eligible for unemployment insurance benefits, may also qualify for disaster unemployment assistance, according to the Office of Employment and Training (OET), an agency of the Education and Workforce Development Cabinet.

Sept. 18, 2015, is the deadline for applying for benefits. All regular unemployment insurance benefits must be exhausted prior to receiving any disaster benefits. Applications can be filed at local Kentucky Career Center offices. To find a list of local offices, visit If you have questions, you may contact the local office or call 502-564-3240.

When filing a claim, self-employed individuals should bring a copy of their 2014 income tax return. Other applicants need only a photo-identification card and their Social Security number.

Additional counties may be designated for federal disaster assistance at a later date if requested by the Commonwealth and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.

Categories: Local News, News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *