KYEM remains activated in response to flooding

FRANKFORT, Ky. (WTVQ) – The Kentucky Division of Emergency Management says it is still activated in response to continual flooding conditions throughout Kentucky.

Since February 6, Kentucky has experienced prolonged episodes of storms which have produced heavy rain, strong and gusting wind, flooding and flash flooding, landslides and mudslides across the state.

On Monday, Governor Matt Bevin declared a state of emergency, allowing state resources to be use in support of cities and counties as needed.

To date, the Kentucky Division of Emergency Management says it has received 41 county and 14 city state of emergency declarations.

County declarations include: Ballard, Bell, Breathitt, Carlisle, Carter, Clay, Clinton, Crittenden, Cumberland, Elliott, Estill, Floyd, Fulton, Grant, Harlan, Hickman, Jackson, Johnson, Knox, Lawrence, Lee, Leslie, Letcher, Livingston, Magoffin, Marshall, Martin, McCracken, Metcalfe, Morgan, Owsley, Perry, Pike, Powell, Rockcastle, Russell, Union, Wayne, Webster, Whitley and Wolfe.

City declarations include: Burkesville (Cumberland), Cadiz (Trigg), (Clay City (Powell), Edmonton (Metcalfe), Grayson (Carter), Hickman (Fulton), Jenkins (Letcher), Monticello (Wayne), Paducah (McCracken), Paintsville (Johnson), Pikeville (Pike), Salyersville (Magoffin), Springfield (Washington), West Liberty (Morgan) and Whitesburg (Letcher).

Kentucky Division of Emergency Management says it has been coordinating daily with the US Army Corps of Engineers assisting in efforts to response to record level water releases at Wolf Creek Dam and flood control efforts at the Smithland Levee.

Categories: News, State News