Governor requests disaster declaration for 58 KY counties

FRANKFORT, Ky. (WTVQ) – Governor Matt Bevin is requesting federal assistance for 58 Kentucky counties impacted by severe flooding that hit the state in February and March.

Three Kentuckians died as a result of the storm that caused flooding, flash flooding, landslides, and mudslides.

The storm caused more than $41 million in damages, mainly to highways, bridges, and utility infrastructure.

Last week, the governor sent a letter to President Donald Trump, requesting a Presidential Disaster Declaration for the following counties: Ballard, Bell, Boyd, Breathitt, Butler, Campbell, Carlisle, Carroll, Carter, Clay, Clinton, Crittenden, Cumberland, Edmonson, Elliott, Estill, Floyd, Fulton, Grant, Hancock, Harlan, Henderson, Henry, Hickman, Jackson, Johnson, Knott, Knox, Laurel, Lawrence, Lee, Leslie, Letcher, Livingston, Lyon, Madison, Magoffin, Marshall, Martin, McCracken, McCreary, Metcalfe, Monroe, Morgan, Owsley, Pendleton, Perry, Pike, Powell, Rockcastle, Russell, Simpson, Trigg, Union, Wayne, Webster, Whitley, and Wolfe.

For more information on disasters and mitigation processes, please visit

Categories: Featured, News, State News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *