Wehr named Mississippi River Commission president

VICKSBURG, Miss. (AP) — Maj. Gen. Michael C. Wehr, commander of the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers’ Mississippi Valley Division since August 2014, is the president of the Mississippi River Commission.

The commission was created by Congress in 1879 to provide for general improvements along the length of the Mississippi River.

The division has district offices in St. Paul, Minnesota; Rock Island, Illinois; St. Louis; Memphis, Tennessee; Vicksburg; and New Orleans

The Vicksburg Post reports (http://bit.ly/1IZNiZC ) Brig. Gen. Richard G. Kaiser is the new commander of the Corps’ Great Lakes and Ohio River Division, headquartered in Cincinnati.

Kaiser took command of the Great Lakes and Ohio River Division in September 2014. The division has seven engineer districts totaling over 4,100 people operating in a 17 state area.

President Barrack Obama announced the appointments.


Information from: The Vicksburg Post, http://www.vicksburgpost.com


©2015 Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Categories: News, State News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *