“Turn Around Don’t Drown” signs being installed in five east Kentucky counties

JACKSON, Ky. (WTVQ) – “Turn around, don’t drown.”  That flood safety warning will be seen on bright yellow signs around several Eastern Kentucky counties, thanks to a cooperative effort between the National Weather Service and local Emergency Management.

Bath, Breathitt, Johnson, Magoffin and Owsley Counties were selected to receive a limited number of signs made available nationwide by National Weather Service Headquarters in Silver Spring, MD.  Emergency Management in these counties submitted requests detailing flood prone locations and an outreach plan for the sign installation.

Signs have already been installed on McCullough Hollow Road and McCarty Branch Road in Bath County, marking a location that is particularly vulnerable to flash flooding in the Salt Lick community.

Additional signs will be installed at the following locations over the next couple of weeks:

  • Breathitt County on KY 476 and KY 205
  • Johnson County on KY 1107 at Davis Branch
  • Magoffin County on KY 7 near Magoffin County School Board, Bus Garage and Head Start
  • Owsley County on Old KY 11 in Booneville

Even though Kentucky accounts for slightly over 1 percent of the U.S. population, flood deaths over the past 20 years in the state have accounted for almost 5 percent of the total flood deaths in the country.  Most of those deaths, 63 percent, were the result of motorists driving into flood waters.

For the complete news release go to http://www.weather.gov/jkl/2016_TADD_release.

Categories: News, State News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *