Thomas named to the board of National Rural Economic Developers Association

LEXINGON, Ky. (WTVQ/Press Release) – Brad Thomas of Kentucky’s Touchstone Energy Cooperatives has been named to the board of directors of the National Rural Economic Developers Association (NREDA).

“I am looking forward to serving on the board of the only nationwide organization dedicated to advancing rural economic development,” said Thomas, Economic Development Manager for the co-ops. “NREDA offers tremendous resources, especially opportunities to share strategies that are effective in bringing jobs and investment to rural communities.”

“We are very pleased to have Thomas join the Board of Directors to serve the members and advance NREDA’s mission,” said NREDA President Nikki Pfannenstiel. “The Association supports its members and economic development allies with networking and educational publications, a comprehensive annual conference, and advanced economic development education workshops and webinars.”

“Brad has a wealth of economic development experience to offer, and NREDA has much to offer for our cooperatives,” said Rodney Hitch, Director of Economic Development for Kentucky’s Touchstone Energy Cooperatives. “NREDA understands the unique challenges of promoting economic development in rural communities.”

In 2018, Kentucky’s Touchstone Energy Cooperatives received the Organization Excellence Award from NREDA.

“Electric cooperatives have always played a vital role in improving the quality of the lives of the people they serve, and that is also the goal of economic development,” said Tony Campbell, President and CEO of East Kentucky Power Cooperative, one of 17 electric co-ops that make up Kentucky’s Touchstone Energy Cooperatives. “It is important that our rural communities work together to promote economic development.”

NREDA is a professional organization dedicated exclusively to the advancement of rural development, the development of member proficiency, and achievement of social and human service objectives in rural areas. Find them online at

Kentucky’s Touchstone Energy Cooperatives include 17 not-for-profit, member-owned electric cooperatives that serve more than 1.1 million Kentucky residents across 87 Kentucky counties.

They include:

  • Big Sandy RECC, Paintsville, Ky.
  • Blue Grass Energy, Nicholasville, Ky.
  • Clark Energy Cooperative, Winchester, Ky.
  • Cumberland Valley Electric, Gray, Ky.
  • Farmers RECC, Glasgow, Ky.
  • Fleming-Mason Energy, Flemingsburg, Ky.
  • Grayson RECC, Grayson, Ky.
  • Inter-County Energy Cooperative, Danville, Ky.
  • Jackson Energy Cooperative, McKee, Ky.
  • Licking Valley RECC, West Liberty, Ky.
  • Nolin RECC, Elizabethtown, Ky.
  • Owen Electric Cooperative, Owenton, Ky.
  • Salt River Electric, Bardstown, Ky.
  • Shelby Energy Cooperative, Shelbyville, Ky.
  • South Kentucky RECC, Somerset Ky.
  • Taylor County RECC, Campbellsville, Ky.
  • East Kentucky Power Cooperative
Categories: Local News, News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *