Survivors Council adds 14 new members

FRANKFORT, Ky. (WTVQ) – The 2021-2022 Survivors Council will get input from fourteen Kentuckians that were appointed Thursday morning.

Council members advise the Attorney General’s Office of Victims Advocacy on issues related to the criminal justice systems’ response to crime victims.

“I am grateful to the members of the Survivors Council for their commitment to serving their fellow Kentuckians, and I look forwarding to working with the Council to ensure Kentucky’s criminal justice system is victim-centered,” said Attorney General Daniel Cameron. “We are committed to serving victims of crime throughout the Commonwealth, and the insight, experiences, and knowledge of the Council membership is instrumental to this work.”

The following individuals were appointed to the 2021-2022 Survivors Council:

  • Morgan Barnes, Shelby County
  • Marcy DuPlessis, Hardin County
  • Ricardo Franklin, Fayette County
  • Secret Holt, Marshall County
  • Shellena Harmon, Harrison County
  • Julie Horen Easley, Jefferson County
  • Annell Lough, Franklin County
  • Kathleen Niestadt, Jefferson County
  • Mercedes Santos Tellez, Jefferson County
  • Amy Schumacher, Scott County
  • Hilary Sykes, Fayette County
  • Jennique Tipton, Montgomery County
  • Kathleen Thomassy, Breathitt County
  • Christine Whelan, Campbell County

The council has sought since 2017 to provide crime victims’ and their family members’ expertise in order to develop a victim-centered approach to criminal justice.

Denise Durbin, Executive Director of the Office of Victims Advocacy, facilitates the council. Meetings are quarterly and members serve terms of up to two years.

To learn more about the Survivors Council and Attorney General Cameron’s Office of Victims Advocacy visit,

Categories: Local News, News, State News