State releases county unemployment data for February 2018

FRANKFORT, Ky. (WTVQ)- Unemployment rates fell in 119 Kentucky counties between February 2017 and February 2018 and rose in one (Metcalfe County), according to the Kentucky Center for Education and Workforce Statistics, an agency of the Kentucky Education and Workforce Development Cabinet.

Woodford County recorded the lowest jobless rate in the Commonwealth at 3.3%. It was followed by Fayette and Oldham counties, 3.5% each; Campbell, Marion, Scott, Shelby and Spencer counties, 3.7% each; and Boone and Washington counties, 3.8% each.

Magoffin County recorded the state’s highest unemployment rate at 15.2%. It was followed by Elliott County, 10.9%; Menifee County, 10.5%; Carter County, 10.1%; Lewis County, 9.8%; Wolfe County, 8.6%; Bath County, 8.4%; Lawrence County, 8.3%; and Jackson, Lee, Morgan and Owsley counties, 8.2% each.

Kentucky’s county unemployment rates and employment levels are not seasonally adjusted because of small sample sizes.

Employment statistics undergo sharp fluctuations due to seasonal events such as weather changes, harvests, holidays and school openings and closings. Seasonal adjustments eliminate these influences and make it easier to observe statistical trends. The comparable, unadjusted unemployment rate for the state was 4.7% for February 2018, and 4.4% for the nation.

Unemployment statistics are based on estimates and are compiled to measure trends rather than actually to count people working. Civilian labor force statistics include non-military workers and unemployed Kentuckians who are actively seeking work. They do not include unemployed Kentuckians who have not looked for employment within the past four weeks. The data should only be compared to the same month in previous years.

Learn more about Kentucky labor market information at

Media Release from Commonwealth of Kentucky Education & Workforce Development Cabinet

Categories: News, State News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *