New senate chamber named for UK Board Chair, former SGA President

LEXINGTON, Ky. (WTVQ) — Members of the University of Kentucky Board of Trustees and Student Government gathered in the new Student Government Senate Chamber inside of the Gatton Student Center to dedicate the space Thursday.

The new Senate Chamber has been named the E. Britt Brockman, M.D. Senate Chamber for UK alumnus and Board of Trustees Chair Britt Brockman.

Brockman hails from LaRue County and attended UK from 1977 to 1982. During that time, he served as student body president and graduated with a Bachelor of Science in pharmacy. He went on to attend medical school  at the University of Louisville and became board certified in ophthalmology. Brockman, who practices in Louisville, also serves on several boards across the state of Kentucky and is a business leader in the region.

UK President Eli Capilouto praised Brockman’s accomplishments and eternal support of the university and spoke to what the new space will mean to students and organizations.

The university says the opening of the new Gatton Student Center brought new life to student organizations all over campus. The new spaces it provides will foster student success and involvement is revolutionizing the student experience. The E. Britt Brockman, M.D. Senate Chamber will not only accommodate regular Senate meetings but will also serve as a place for students to study and for other organizations to hold meetings.

Student Government Senate President, Dylan Byrum says, “The new Senate Chamber has been a resource that fosters constructive conversations for the betterment of the community we call home. The facility is the new heart of our organization and has already proven its significance in establishing and maintaining relationships with student on campus.”

Categories: Local News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *