Meadowthorpe Elementary takes 2020 Governor’s Cup

FAYETTE COUNTY, Ky. (WTVQ) — Meadowthorpe Elementary earned top honors in Region 22 of the 2020 Governor’s Cup, which concluded Feb. 29, and Ashland Elementary was the overall runner-up.

The Hume Sportsmanship Award went to Athens-Chilesburg Elementary. Founded in 1986 to promote classroom achievement, the Governor’s Cup is Kentucky’s premier academic competition.

A contest consists of five written assessment exams, composition (on-demand writing), future problem-solving, and quick recall (quiz bowl). Elementary students participate only in district and regional contests, while the middle grades and high school divisions include district, regional, and state competition.

FCPS team standings in Region 22

  • Overall: 1st place to Meadowthorpe, 2nd to Ashland, 3rd to Athens-Chilesburg (ACE), 4th to Wellington and 5th to Rosa Parks after a tiebreaker, 6th to Garrett Morgan, and 7th to Liberty. (Three private schools from Lexington also competed in this region.)
  • Quick recall: 1st place to Ashland, 2nd to Meadowthorpe, 3rd to Wellington, and 4th to Liberty.
  • Future problem solving: 1st place to Liberty, 2nd to Garrett Morgan, and 3rd to Ashland.

Individual highlights

  • Math: 1st place to Yi Zheng of Meadowthorpe, 2nd to Jack Gill of Rosa Parks, and 3rd to Owen Krohmer of Rosa Parks.
  • Science: 1st place to Tejas Basneth of ACE, 2nd to Jack Gill of Rosa Parks, and 3rd to Owen Krohmer of Rosa Parks.
  • Social Studies: 1st place to Yi Zheng of Meadowthorpe and 2nd to Henry Cheves of Ashland.
  • Language Arts: 1st place to Hassan Patel of Wellington and 2nd to Daniel Liew of Meadowthorpe.
  • Arts & Humanities: 1st place to Evelyn Afenya of Meadowthorpe, 2nd to Haydn Imai of Garrett Morgan, and 3rd to Bhumika Rana of Wellington.
  • Composition: 1st place to Brinley Christensen of ACE and 2nd to Hunter Cook of ACE.
Categories: Featured, Local News, News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *