Mayor-Elect Linda Gorton names her transition team

LEXINGTON, Ky. (WTVQ) – Linda Gorton has named the members of her transition team as she gets set to become Lexington’s next mayor.

The mayor-elect’s team will work with members of Mayor Jim Gray’s administration during the transition.

“We want this transition to be seamless, and to put citizens first,” Gorton says. “There should be no interruption in the services the city provides citizens, and progress should continue uninterrupted on long-range projects.”

Gorton says the first phase of the transition will focus on internal issues.

The future phase will focus on priorities for external issues.

Gorton says Wil James, former president of the Georgetown Toyota Motor Manufacturing plant, and Chris Frost, a University of Kentucky College of Law professor, will co-chair the transition team.

Frost led the transition between the Newberry and Gray administrations.

Other team leaders include Lexington attorney Phil Scott, who will work with the Law Department; educator Eunice Beatty and UK College of Law Professor Carolyn Bratt, who will work with the Planning, Preservation and Development Department; urban planner Ed Holmes, who will work with the Environmental Quality and Public Works Department; former U.S. Attorney Kerry Harvey, who will work with the Public Safety Department; workforce development expert Roy Woods, who will work with the Social Services Department; Blue Grass Community Foundation President Lisa Adkins, who will work with the General Services Department; and UK Martin School Professor and former state budget director Merl Hackbart, who will work with the Finance Department.

Gorton officially takes over as mayor on January 6.

An inauguration ceremony is planned at 2 p.m., Sunday, January 6, in the ballroom of Gatton Student Center, 160 Avenue of Champions.

The event is free and open to the public.

Categories: Featured, Local News, News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.