Local Troopers receive awards

MAYFIELD, Ky. (WTVQ) Six Kentucky State Troopers were recognized for their service.

Four Troopers from post 1 and two local Troopers assigned to the agency’s Drug Investigation and Special Investigations (DESI) branch received recognition at a ceremony in Lexington on Friday from Justice Secretary John Tilley and Kentucky State Police Commissioner Richard Sanders.

Senior Trooper Eric Fields, a Livingston County resident, received the “KSP Citation for Bravery,” an honor bestowed on officers of the agency who perform acts of bravery, without regard for personal risk despite clear and obvious peril, and clearly above and beyond the call or risk of ordinary duty.

Trooper Adam Jones, DESI Detective Richie Wright, and DESI Sergeant Dean Patterson, all Graves County residents, received the “Citation for Meritorious Service”, which is bestowed on officers of the agency who distinguish themselves by an act of meritorious service of such exceptional character that it contributed to the success of a major command or endeavor.

Also receiving this award in reference to the same investigation were retired DESI Detectives John Saylor, Shawn Ramage, Jason Kirk, as well as current DESI Detective Carlo Anderson.

Master Trooper Lewie Dodd, a Lyon County resident and 19 year veteran with KSP, was named the “2016 KSP Post 1 Trooper of the Year.”

Detective Cory Hamby, a McCracken County resident and 7 year veteran with KSP (2 of those years as a Detective), was named the “2016 KSP Post 1 Detective of the Year.”

Post 1 photo is (left to right) Dodd, Fields, Jones, Hamby.  DESI photo is (left to right) Anderson, Patterson, Kirk, Saylor, Wright.


Categories: News, State News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *