Local leaders and organizations recognized for smoke-free efforts

LEXINGTON, Ky. (WTVQ) – Kentucky continues to fight against one of the state and nation’s leading causes of death and major illness – smoking.

Many communities have launched efforts to curb smoking and its effects, especially among young people.

On Tuesday, the Kentucky Center for Smoke-free Policy recognized local advocates for their efforts to create smoke-free communities.

Madison County Schools received the Tobacco-free Campus Award for its 100% tobacco-free campus policy. Anthany Beatty, retired Assistant Vice President for Public Safety at UK, won the Lee T. Todd, Jr. Smoke-free Hero Award for his commitment to smoke- and tobacco-free environments. The Everette Varney Smoke-free Indoor Air Excellence Award went to Knott County thanks to its county-wide smoke-free workplace ordinance.

“Smoking-related illness is the leading cause of death here in Eastern Kentucky and we’re very excited to have another community that has gone smoke-free and has shown that it cares about its residents and those that visit Eastern Kentucky,” said Scott Lockard, Public Health Director for the Kentucky River District Health Department.

Rebecca Horn of the Green River District Health Department was recognized as the David B. Stevens, MD Smoke-free Advocate of the Year for her work in promoting secondhand smoke education and smoke-free policy.

Other winners included the McCracken County FCCLA who won the Smoke-free Youth Advocate Award, Timothy W. Mullett, MC Lung Cancer Prevention Award-winner Felicia Troutman with Owensboro Health and Donna Teegarden, retired Health Promotion Manager with the Bracken County Health Department, who won the Lifetime Achievement in Tobacco Control Award.

Categories: Local News, News, State News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *