Lexington’s mayor appoints Census committee

LEXINGTON, Ky. (WTVQ) – Lexington Mayor Linda Gorton Thursday appointed a Complete Count Committee to ensure Lexington counts every citizen in the upcoming 2020 federal Census.

“The census count has a big impact on the amount of federal grant funding Lexington is able to attract,” Gorton said. “It’s important that we count everyone.” Census data affects funding for Head Start, public transportation, programs for senior citizens, and other programs.

The U.S. Constitution requires a complete census count every 10 years. It allows the Census Bureau to provide data about Americans and the U.S. economy.

“The Census 2020 Complete Count Committee includes a diverse group of local government officials, business leaders, community organizations, educators and campus administrators, faith-based groups, and individuals from all across the Lexington community,” said Commissioner of Social Services Chris Ford, who is overseeing the committee. “The Committee will devise strategies, make recommendations, and lead initiatives, in order to increase Census responses of traditionally undercounted populations across local communities.”

Gorton issued an executive order Thursday, establishing a Complete Count Committee that includes:

  • Parry Barrows, City Public Information Office
  • Nicolas Benrey, U.S. Postal Service
  • Lane Boldman, Fayette County Neighborhood Council
  • Lt. Mark Brand, Lexington Police
  • Councilmember James Brown
  • Glenn Brown, Deputy Chief Administrative Officer
  • Carrie Butler, Lextran
  • Craig Cammack, Mayor’s Office
  • Monica Conrad, Parks & Recreation
  • David Cozart, Lexington Leadership Foundation
  • Andrés Cruz, La Voz
  • Chris Ford, Social Services
  • Katrina Howard, Health Department
  • Councilmember Susan Lamb
  • Arthur Lucas, Diversity & Inclusion Office
  • Josh Mers, Lexington Fairness
  • Fred Mitchell, Russell Cave Church of Christ
  • Megan Moloney, Transylvania University
  • Patrice Muhammad, Key Newsjournal
  • Rob Parmley, Lexington Public Library
  • P.G. Peeples, Urban League of Lexington-Fayette County
  • Councilmember Jennifer Reynolds
  • Bridgett Rice, Community Action Council
  • Mark Royse, Lexington Community Radio
  • Polly Ruddick, Office of Homelessness Prevention and Intervention
  • Ray Sexton, Lexington-Fayette Urban County Human Rights Commission
  • Austin Simms, Lexington Housing Authority
  • Sheila Simpson, Bluegrass Community & Technical College
  • Kristy Stambaugh, Division of Aging & Disability Services
  • Bradley Stevenson, Child Care Council of Kentucky
  • Isabel Taylor, Global Lex
  • James Watts, Lexington VA Medical Center
  • Jim Wims, University of Kentucky
  • Lindsay Wright, Fayette County Public Schools
  • Richard Young, CivicLex
  • Dana Zinger, Commerce Lexington, and such other representatives of our community needed to ensure a complete count of all residents of Lexington-Fayette County.
Categories: Local News, News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *