Laurel, Boyle, Carter county schools named ‘Blue Ribbon’

BOYLE COUNTY, Ky. (WTVQ) – Elementary schools in Boyle, Laurel and Carter counties were among 10 in the state named national Blue Ribbon Schools for 2020 by U.S. Secretary of Education Betsy DeVos.

The recognition is based on a school’s overall academic performance or progress in closing achievement gaps among student subgroups.

“Congratulations to this year’s National Blue Ribbon School awardees,” said DeVos. “It’s a privilege to recognize the extraordinary work you do to meet students’ needs and prepare them for successful careers and meaningful lives.”

The coveted National Blue Ribbon Schools award affirms the hard work of educators, families, and communities in creating safe and welcoming schools where students master challenging and engaging content. Now in its 38th year, the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program has bestowed almost 10,000 awards to more than 9,000 schools, with some schools winning multiple awards. Schools are eligible for nomination after five years.

The Department recognizes all schools in one of two performance categories, based on all student scores, student subgroup scores, and graduation rates:

  • Exemplary High Performing Schools – These are among their state’s highest performing schools as measured by state assessments or nationally normed tests.
  • Exemplary Achievement Gap Closing Schools are among their state’s highest performing schools in closing achievement gaps between a school’s student groups and all students.

Up to 420 schools may be nominated each year. The Department invites National Blue Ribbon School nominations from the top education official in all states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, the Department of Defense Education Activity, and the Bureau of Indian Education. Private schools are nominated by The Council for American Private Education (CAPE).

The 2020 National Blue Ribbon Schools Awards Ceremony will be held virtually Nov. 12 and 13. A total of 317 public and 50 non-public school honorees will be honored.

Photographs and brief descriptions of all 2020 National Blue Ribbon Schools are available at

The following Kentucky schools were recognized:

City                             School Name                                       District

Grayson                Carter City Elementary School                Carter County School District

Louisville             Christian Academy of Louisville             Christian Academy School
High School                                               System

Louisville             duPont Manual High School                    Jefferson County School District

East Bernstadt      Hazel Green Elementary School              Laurel County School District

Junction City        Junction City Elementary School             Boyle County School District

Sacramento           Marie Gatton Phillips                               McLean County School District
Elementary School

Louisville             Saint Agnes School                                  Archdiocese of Louisville

Pewee Valley        Saint Aloysius School                              Archdiocese of Louisville

Louisville             St Raphael The Archangel                       Archdiocese of Louisville
Elementary School

Villa Hills             Villa Madonna Academy High School    Diocese of Covington

Categories: Featured, Local News, News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *