KY counties selected for post-primary election audits

FRANKFORT, Ky. (WTVQ) – Six Kentucky counties will undergo an audit to check for any potential irregularities that may have occurred during the May 22 primary election.

The counties, which were randomly drawn by the Kentucky Office of the Attorney General, include Bullitt, Jessamine, Owen, Powell, Rowan and Scott counties.

Kentucky law requires the Office of the Attorney General conduct post-election audits in no fewer than 5 percent of Kentucky’s counties following each primary and general election, and to randomly select the counties in a publicly held drawing.

The routine audit includes checking election forms and interviewing county officials.

In this last election cycle, the office’s Election Law Violations hotline received 318 election complaints from 78 counties, and 71 complaints are still under review.

Categories: News, State News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *