KSU President keynote speaker at state Black History celebration

FRANKFORT, Ky. (WTVQ)- Three longtime members of the Kentucky General Assembly were honored for their years of service at the 15th annual Black History Month Celebration.

Kentucky State University president Dr. M. Christopher Brown II was the keynote speaker at this years event held in the Capitol Rotunda.

This year’s event focused on the “Onward and Upward,” which is the University’s motto.

The 2018 Legacy Achievement Award was presented to  state Representatives Rep. Darryl Owens, D- Louisville, Arnold Simpson, D- Covington, and former state Rep. Jesse Crenshaw of Lexington  by Senator Gerald Neal, D-Louisville.

The event was sponsored by Kentucky Black Legislative Caucus.

Rep. Owens represents House District 43, which covers a portion of Jefferson County.

Rep. Simpson represents House District 65, which covers a portion of Kenton County.

Rep. Crenshaw, a former Democratic member of the Kentucky House of Representatives, represented District 77 in Fayette County.


Categories: News, State News