KSP honors fallen troopers, CVE officers and highway patrolmen at Memorial Service

FRANKFORT, Ky. (WTVQ) – Kentucky Justice Cabinet Secretary John Tilley and Kentucky State Police Commissioner Rick Sanders recognized fallen KSP troopers, officers and highway patrolmen at a memorial service and wreath-laying ceremony held on May 21 at the KSP Training Academy in Frankfort.

“These officers gave everything so that our families and communities could grow, prosper and live free from fear,” said Justice Cabinet Secretary John Tilley. “We owe them, and their loved ones, a tremendous debt. And we must show our gratitude, not just in our words, but with how we live our lives, every day.”

“For those survivors here today, there’s no ceremony, there’s no speech, there’s nothing that we can do to make it better,” said KSP Commissioner Rick Sanders to family members of the fallen gathered for the service. “But the one thing we want you to know is you don’t grieve alone. We grieve with you, we pray for you and we will be by your side from now on.

Sanders also unveiled a plaque bearing the names of six Kentucky Highway Patrol officers who died in the line of duty. The highway patrol was the predecessor to KSP prior to 1948. The plaque will be permanently installed in the cadet barracks at the KSP Academy in Frankfort.

The officers honored on the plaque include:


Patrolman James Hays: December 21, 1935.

Patrolman Robert Rowland: December 22, 1935

Capt. Vernon Snell: February 20, 1937

Patrolman Mose Littrell: March 14, 1938

Patrolman Houston Greene: May 18, 1944

Patrolman Vadas Richardson: October 7, 1944


Twenty-nine Kentucky State Police troopers, one Commercial Vehicle Enforcement officer, one KSP Water Patrol officer have died in the line of duty since the agency was established in 1948. They include:


Trooper Harold J. Toll: November 14, 1948

Trooper Robert R. Miller: February 14, 1951

Trooper Lee T. Huffman: May 19, 1953

Trooper Herbert C. Bush: October 11, 1958

Trooper William E. Tevis: May 26, 1963

Trooper Elmer Mobley Jr.: May 28, 1964

Trooper Cecil W. Uzzle: May 28, 1964

Trooper Delano G. Powell: July 8, 1965

Trooper Mack E. Brady: November 9, 1966

Trooper William Barrett: December 19, 1971

Trooper James McNeely: April 8, 1972

KSP Water Patrol Officer David Childs, April, 8, 1972

Trooper Walter O. Thurtell: September 29, 1972

Trooper Joe Ward Jr.: April 23, 1973

Lieutenant William C. Smith: April 26, 1973

Trooper John Hutchinson: June 4, 1975

Trooper Bobby McCoun: September 1, 1975

Trooper William Pickard: January 21, 1976

Lieutenant Willis Martin: April 26, 1977

Trooper Clinton Cunningham: February 11, 1979

Trooper Edward Harris: November 7, 1979

Trooper Jerome S. Clifton: October 1, 1980

Detective Darrell V. Phelps: August 7, 1981

Trooper Johnny M. Edrington: December 21, 1988

Trooper Johnny G. Adkins: November 24, 1995

CVE Officer Jason Cammack: April 23, 2000

Trooper Jonathan K. Leonard: December 19, 2006

Trooper Anson B. Tribby: January 22, 2013

Trooper Eric K. Chrisman: June 23, 2015

Sgt. David Gibbs: August 7, 2015

Trooper Joseph C. Ponder: September 13, 2015

Categories: Local News, News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *