Franklin County to begin new drivers license rollout June 28

FRANKFORT, Ky. (WTVQ) – Kentucky’s new drivers licenses will begin rolling out in Franklin County Friday, June 28th as part of a pilot phase. Franklin County residents are urged to gather required documents before visiting the Circuit Court Clerk office to apply.

New standard and Voluntary Travel ID card versions will be available to Franklin County residents beginning Friday, June 28th.

Drivers licensing offices in Franklin County will be closed on Thursday, June 27th to allow for the installation of new equipment.

A timeline for the pilot rollout in Woodford County and Hart County will be announced shortly after the Franklin County rollout.

Residents will have a more interactive experience when applying thanks to new touchpads that allow citizens to enter and verify personal information. All applicants will be issued a temporary document, valid for driving until the permanent card arrives in the mail 5-10 business days later.

If the applicant is not applying for the first time, their old credential will be altered with a hole punch over the portrait in the lower right corner and returned to them. This altered credential can be used for domestic air travel when shown in conjunction with the new temporary document.

An applicant that is requesting the new Voluntary Travel ID, or those applying for a license, permit or personal ID for the first time, must present documentation verifying identity, social security number, and residency.

A list of required documentation and dates for the pilot counties go to the Confident Kentucky Website.

Categories: Featured, State News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *