FEMA: Disaster recovery centers to transition to loan outreach centers

FRANKFORT, Ky. (FEMA) – Disaster recovery centers in Carter and Johnson counties will transition to disaster loan outreach centers at 9 a.m. on Wednesday, Sept. 23. Representatives from the U.S. Small Business Administration will be available to help with disaster loans and Federal Emergency Management Agency Individual Assistance specialists will also be on site. The FEMA specialists can help with registration, answer questions about applications and explain correspondence from the agency.

The centers are located at 539 Hitchins Ave. (Northeast Kentucky Community Action) in Olive Hill and 120 Tays Branch Road (Midway College – School of Pharmacy) in Paintsville. They will be operated by SBA and will be open Sept. 23 to Sept. 25 and Sept. 28 from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. (EDT). On Sept. 29, the centers will open at 9 a.m. and close permanently at 4 p.m.

Survivors who suffered losses in Breathitt, Carter, Fleming, Johnson, Leslie, Perry, Rowan and Trimble counties during the severe July storms can visit either of the centers and have until Oct. 12 to register with FEMA. Those who need help with applications or appeals can also go online to DisasterAssistance.gov or call FEMA’s helpline (800-621-3362, 800-462-7585 for TTY or 800-621-3362 for Video Relay Service).

Representatives from the SBA will be available at the centers to meet individually with survivors, explain the SBA’s disaster loan program, help them complete their applications and close their approved disaster loans.

Small businesses and most nonprofits with or without physical damage may apply for an economic injury disaster loan, which is a working capital loan to help with disaster-related cash flow problems.

Survivors with questions about an SBA disaster loan application can also call the SBA Disaster Customer Service Center at 800-659-2955 (TTY 800-877-8339) or send an email to DisasterCustomerService@sba.gov.

Categories: News, State News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *