UPDATE: FEMA deadline extended again for 31 counties to July 23


FRANKFORT, Ky. (WTVQ) – Once again, the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has pushed back the deadline for Kentuckians impacted by severe storms to register for help through the Individual Assistance (IA) program.

Now, the application deadline is July 23.

“We are grateful that FEMA granted this extension because it will allow more Kentuckians to receive much-needed assistance following historic flooding in the commonwealth,” said Gov. Andy Beshear. “All eligible Kentuckians should take advantage of this service as soon as possible before the new July 23 deadline.”

“Again, we appreciate FEMA’s final extension of the IA registration period for our recent flooding event and urge all of our impacted residents to take advantage of this closing opportunity for federal assistance,” stated Michael Dossett, director of Kentucky Emergency Management.


FRANKFORT, Ky. (WTVQ) – The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has extended the deadline for those affected by Kentucky’s severe storms to register for aid under the Individual Assistance (IA) program. The application deadline is now July 8.

“For many Kentuckians, these severe storms were one of the most stressful and challenging events of their lives. FEMA’s deadline extension will be incredibly helpful, giving them more time to apply for the assistance they need,” said Gov. Andy Beshear. “This extension makes it easier for more of our people to get help. I encourage all eligible Kentuckians to apply before the new deadline of July 8.”

The fastest and easiest way to apply is by visiting www.disasterassistance.gov.

Those living in the following 31 counties affected by severe flooding qualify and are encouraged to register: Anderson, Boyd, Breathitt, Clark, Clay, Estill, Fayette, Floyd, Franklin, Greenup, Jackson, Jessamine, Johnson, Knott, Laurel, Lawrence, Lee, Leslie, Letcher, Lincoln, Madison, Magoffin, Martin, Morgan, Owsley, Perry, Powell, Pulaski, Rockcastle, Warren and Woodford.

“Again, thanks to our FEMA partners for the extended timeline. We urge all of our impacted residents in the 31 IA counties to apply for federal assistance before the registration period closes for this disaster event,” added Michael Dossett, director of the Kentucky Division of Emergency Management (KYEM).

If registering online is not an option, call 800-621-3362 (TTY: 800-462-7585). The toll-free telephone lines operate from 7 a.m. to 11 p.m. seven days a week. Those who use a relay service such as a videophone, Innocaption or CapTel should update FEMA with their specific number assigned to that service.

According to KYEM, FEMA staff will be available to meet in person with Kentuckians affected by the Feb. 27 – March 14, 2021 severe storms and flooding at Individual Assistance Registration Support Centers in Clay, Floyd and Lee counties.

Kentuckians from any of the counties that were part of President Biden’s April 23 major disaster declaration can visit any in-person registration sites, regardless of which county they live in.

Open Wednesday to Friday, June 16-18:

  • Clay County Community Center: 311 Highway 638, Manchester, KY 40962

Open Thursday to Saturday, June 17-19:

  • Floyd County Community Center: 7199 Kentucky Highway 80, Langley, KY 41645
  • Lee County Community Center: 500 Happy Top Road, Beattyville, KY 41311

Hours of operation are 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. local time.

Locations, dates and times of registration at support centers are subject to change based on needs or circumstances. Call the FEMA Helpline at 800-621-3362 or log on to one of the links below to check availability.

You should have the following information available to register:

  • Address of the damaged primary dwelling where damage occurred;
  • Current mailing address;
  • Current telephone number;
  • Social Security number;
  • Your insurance information;
  • Total household annual income;
  • Routing and account numbers for checking or savings accounts so FEMA may directly transfer disaster assistance funds; and
  • A general description of disaster damage and losses.

For more information on Kentucky’s disaster recovery, visit https://kyem.ky.gov and www.fema.gov/disaster/4595.

Categories: Featured, Local News, News, State News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *