Fayette students practice diplomatic skills at Model UN

LEXINGTON, Ky. (Press Release) – Four student groups from Fayette County Public Schools participated in the 2021 Kentucky United Nations Assembly, which again went virtual this March amid COVID-19 precautions.

In this two-day experiential learning program, students engaged in simulated international diplomacy, experienced the richness of cultures from around the world, developed empathy, and honed critical-thinking skills while encountering a variety of perspectives and global issues with peers from around the state.

Students also served as officers, ran as candidates, and earned merit-based awards.

Following are this spring’s highlights from FCPS. 

Middle schools: Winburn

  • Presiding officers for 2021: Chakrapani Gudlavalleti elected from Winburn (now attending Paul Laurence Dunbar High School)

High schools: Henry Clay, Lafayette, and STEAM Academy

  • Premiere Delegations: Lafayette and STEAM
  • Outstanding Ambassadors: Holland Kantar of Lafayette, Connor Carpenter of Henry Clay, and Myka Smith-Jackson of STEAM;
  • Outstanding Speakers: Celia Dawahare of Henry Clay; and Arden Ensor, Ella Stumpf, Melody Taghizadeh, and Brit Buchanan of Lafayette;
  • Secretary General’s Choice Resolution: Henry Clay
  • Outstanding International Court of Justice Advocate Team: Lafayette;
  • Outstanding Delegation: Lafayette;
  • Presiding officers for 2021: Izzy Logsdon of Lafayette as president of the UN General Assembly, and Zoe Jenkins of Paul Laurence Dunbar as president of the UN General Assembly;
  • Elected presiding officers for 2022: Teagan Fowler of Lafayette as director general of UNESCO.

For more about KUNA, visit the Kentucky YMCA Youth Association website.

Categories: Local News, News