Fayette clerk turns driver’s license operations over to state facility

FAYETTE COUNTY, Ky. (WTVQ) – The Fayette Circuit Court Clerk driver’s licensing office has closed and driver’s licensing operations in Fayette County have transitioned to the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet’s Lexington Regional office located at 141 Leestown Center Way in Lexington, the clerk’s office said Wednesday.

While the clerk’s licensing office is closed, it will assist until July 31, 2020, by processing renewal and replacement applications for driver’s licenses or ID’s that expired or were lost between March 1, 2020 through June 30,  2020.

In announcing the Lexington regional office, the state said, “unlike other regional driver licensing offices  that operate alongside local Circuit Court Clerk offices, the Lexington office will serve as the only in-person driver licensing application site in Fayette County.”

They further stated, “This means that, in addition to those seeking REAL ID’s, all Fayette County residents who need standard driver’s licenses, permits and ID cards, or renewals, will apply at the new regional office moving forward.”

On March 27, 2020, the Governor signed into law House Bill 453 which makes the Transportation Cabinet the sole application and issuance entity for operator’s licenses and personal identification cards in Kentucky. HB 453 also requires all circuit clerks’ offices to stop issuing operator’s licenses and personal ID cards by June 30, 2022.

Categories: Featured, Local News, News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *