Eight people move on in Nicholasville Commission race

NICHOLASVILLE, Ky. (WTVQ) – Nicholasville voters narrowed a field of 12 candidates down to eight for the November general election and four seats on the City Commission.
Commissioners run at-large in non-partisan races. Voters cast ballots for four candidates in the 12-person field, which included three of the four incumbents.
The top eight vote-getters will appear on the November ballot.
Only incumbent Doug Blackford didn’t run again.
Incumbents Alex Carter, with 2,966 votes, and Patty Grose Teater, with 2,773 votes, led the voting.Bethany Davis Brown got 2,702 votes, Dexter Knight got 2,592, incumbent Betty Black received 2,459, Andy Williams got 1,825, J.R. Allen got 1,711 and Michael Garrett took the eighth spot with 1,422 votes, edging David Kibler, who received 1,326.
Gregory Bohett got 1,037 votes, Michael Harness 837 and Clint Sullivan 587, according to results reported t the Kentucky Secretary of State’s office.
Nicholasville commissioners serve two-year terms while the mayor, Pete Sutherland, serves a four-year term. He will be up for election in 2022.
In the other city in the county, Wilmore, council members will be on the November ballot.
Categories: Election News, Local News, News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.