Dayton becomes 12th Kentucky city to pass fairness ordinance

DAYTON, Ky. (WTVQ)- With a unanimous 5-0 vote Tuesday night, Dayton, in Northern Kentucky, became the 12th Kentucky city to pass a fairness ordinance.

The ordinance bans discrimination against LGBTQ people in employment, housing, and public accommodations.

“Dayton is extremely excited to be able to join the other eleven cities, out of 419 in the Commonwealth, to continue to be the welcoming community we know and love,” Dayton Mayor Ben Baker said.

“I genuinely hope this carries up to the state level so cities don’t have to deal by this city by city. I can’t believe we’ll only be the twelfth in the Commonwealth,” Dayton City Councilman Joe Neary said.

Northern Kentucky Fairness says it expects Dayton to be the first of several Northern Kentucky cities to adopt such an ordinance.

Eleven other Kentucky cities have adopted local Fairness Ordinances. That protects just over a quarter of Kentucky’s population.

The cities are: Louisville (1999), Lexington (1999), Covington (2003), Vicco (2013), Frankfort (2013), Morehead (2013), Danville (2014), Midway (2015), Paducah (2018), Maysville (2018), and Henderson (2019).

The Fiarness Campaign says 2020 will mark the 20th anniversary of the introduction of a Statewide Fairness Law.

According to Fairness, that bill has only ever received two informational hearings in the Kentucky General Assembly.

Categories: News, State News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *