Bourbon, Harrison, Nicholas, Scott health agency requires masks

GEORGETOWN, Ky. (WTVQ) – Two deaths of people in theirs 40s and 50s are just part of the reason the WECO Health Department is mandating masks in its offices starting Tuesday.

“Effective August 3, 2021, in light of the CDC’s updated recommendations and the rise in the number of cases involving the Delta variant of COVID-19, everyone, regardless of vaccination status, who enters the health department will be required to wear a mask or face covering,” the agency said in a Faceb9ook post Monday.

WECDO covers, Bourbon, Haisson, Nicholas and Scott counties.

According to the department, factors considered in making the decision included:

— 86% of the cases in the district are in unvaccinated individuals;

— It had two COVID-related deaths last week, a 46-year-old and 52-year-old, both unvaccinated;

— 20% of hospital patients are COVID related with admissions doubling in two weeks;

— Hospital ER demand is increasing with COVID visits.

“The data is clear. Vaccines work.” the department said. “If you want to be vaccinated, please walk in from 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. at one of our sites. We provide all 3 vaccines.”

Vaccines are available Wednesday at Harrison County Health Center, Thursdays at the Nicholas County Health Center and Fridays at the Scott County Health Center.

Categories: Featured, Local News, News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *