Board announces Dr. Jay Morgan as new MSU president

MOREHEAD, Ky. (WTVQ) – Morehead State University has a new president.

A press release from the Board of Regents says that Dr. Joseph “Jay” Morgan is the institution’s 14th president.

“Finding the most qualified person to be the right ‘fit’ to lead Morehead State University in the years ahead was the top priority for all of the Regents,” said Paul C. Goodpaster, Board of Regents chair. “We have found that in Dr. Jay Morgan.  The landscape in higher education in Kentucky is changing, and we believe his knowledge and experience, especially with the new performance funding model, will enable him to partner with our faculty, staff, and administration to continue moving the university forward in challenging times and in providing MSU students with an extremely high-quality education.”

Dr. Morgan will succeed President Wayne D. Andrews. Dr. Andrews, who took the helm as the 13th president on Jan. 1, 2005, and announced in April 2016 that he would retire on June 30.

“My family and I are honored and excited to become a part of the Morehead State family. It is a tremendous privilege to be selected to lead MSU,” said Dr. Morgan. “I look forward to building on the work of President Andrews, the Board of Regents and the University’s outstanding students, faculty and staff.”

Dr. Morgan’s contract is for a four-year term, beginning July 1,

Currently, Morgan is Chief Academic Officer for the Kentucky Council on Post-Secondary Education.

Categories: Local News, News