Beshear announces Presidential disaster declaration

FRANKFORT, Ky. (WTVQ) – Governor Steve Beshear says he was notified late Tuesday that President Barack Obama had authorized federal assistance for Kentucky in counties that suffered significant damage during the March 3 severe winter storm.

This is the third federal disaster declaration granted this month for severe weather events that hit much of Kentucky earlier this year.  The President’s action makes federal funding available to affected governments and certain non-profit organizations under FEMA’s Public Assistance and Hazard Mitigation Programs.

Public Assistance Program benefits (assistance to local governments for emergency work and the repair or replacement of disaster-damaged facilities) are available for the following counties: Anderson, Bell, Bourbon, Boyd, Breathitt, Bullitt, Butler, Calloway, Carter, Casey, Clay, Daviess, Elliott, Estill, Fleming, Floyd, Franklin, Fulton, Gallatin, Grant, Greenup, Hancock, Harrison, Hart, Jackson, Johnson, Knott, Knox, LaRue, Lawrence, Lee, Leslie, Letcher, Lewis, Magoffin, Marshall, Martin, Mason, Menifee, Metcalfe, Morgan, Nicholas, Ohio, Owen, Owsley, Perry, Pike, Powell, Robertson, Rockcastle, Rowan, Spencer, Trigg, Washington, Webster, Whitley, and Woodford.

Under the Public Assistance Program, snow assistance is also available for: Boyd, Bourbon, Bullitt, Butler, Calloway, Carter, Daviess, Fleming, Franklin, Fulton, Gallatin, Grant, Hancock, Harrison, Hart, LaRue, Lewis, Marshall, Mason, Nicholas, Ohio, Owen, Robertson, Rowan, Spencer, Trigg, Washington, Woodford

All areas in the Commonwealth of Kentucky are eligible for assistance under the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program.

Categories: Local News, News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *