Bath, Nicholas, Jessamine, Scott county courthouse projects get review

FRANKFORT, Ky. (WTVQ) – The Court Facilities Standards Committee will meet at 1 p.m. ET Friday, Dec. 4, to review judicial center projects for 10 counties.

The meeting will take place via videoconference for social distancing due to COVID-19 and will be available for livestreaming on the Kentucky Court of Justice YouTube channel. View the meeting agenda here.

The committee will consider proposed designs for new judicial centers in Oldham and Bath counties and receive updates on projects in Henry and Nicholas counties. Construction is under way on a new judicial center for Nicholas County and a renovation of the Henry County Courthouse.

The meeting agenda also includes updates on plans for judicial center projects authorized by the 2020 Kentucky General Assembly in Barren, Butler, Clinton, Crittenden, Jessamine and Scott counties.

The CFSC is a 10-member body of representatives from the Kentucky Judicial, Executive and Legislative branches of government and a county official appointed by the governor. The committee reviews design plans, cost estimates and financing proposals for new court facilities statewide.

The committee operates under the auspices of the AOC, which is the operational arm of the Kentucky Court of Justice. The KCOJ is the Judicial Branch of state government.

The Division of Capital Construction for the Administrative Office of the Courts oversees court facility construction throughout the commonwealth.

Chief Justice of Kentucky John D. Minton Jr. chairs the committee, which includes AOC Director Laurie K. Dudgeon, Sen. Whitney Westerfield as chairman of the Senate Judiciary Committee, Rep. Jason Petrie as chairman of the House of Representatives Judiciary Committee, Libby Carlin with the Finance and Administration Cabinet as the cabinet secretary’s designee and Kenton County Judge-Executive Kris Knochelmann as the county official appointed by the governor.

Committee members appointed by the Supreme Court of Kentucky are Court of Appeals Judge Denise G. Clayton, Kenton County Chief Circuit Judge Patricia M. Summe and Franklin County Chief District Judge Kathy R. Mangeot. Another member from the Judicial Branch is Floyd County Circuit Court Clerk Douglas Ray Hall, who is president of the Kentucky Association of Circuit Court Clerks.

Categories: Featured, Local News, News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *