Fort Mitchell becomes 23rd Kentucky municipality to approve LGBTQ fairness

FORT MITCHELL, Ky. (WTVQ)- Monday night, Fort Mitchell became the 23rd Kentucky municipality to approve an LGBTQ fairness ordinance. It is the third in Kenton County.

According to the Fairness Campaign, the Fort Mitchell City Council voted unanimously to ban discrimination in employment, housing, and public accommodations against LGBTQ people.

The Campaign says Covington, in Kenton County, was one of the first cities to approve a fairness ordinance in 2003. Crescent Springs approved its ordinance earlier this year.

The twenty-three Kentucky municipalities that have approved local Fairness Ordinances include: Louisville (1999), Lexington (1999), Covington (2003), Vicco (2013), Frankfort (2013), Morehead (2013), Danville (2014), Midway (2015), Paducah (2018), Maysville (2018), Henderson (2019), Dayton (2019), Georgetown (2019), Versailles (2019), Bellevue (2019), Highland Heights (2019), Fort Thomas (2020), Woodford County (2020), Cold Spring (2020), Newport (2020), Crescent Springs (2021), Augusta (2021). and Fort Mitchell (2021).

The campaign says Ashland has a partial ordinance, extending housing protections, and Cynthiana has housing and public accomodations protections.

There are two statewide fairness laws pre-filed for the 2022 legislative session as well as the HEROES ACT, which would restore state veterans benefits to some LGBTQ service members.

Nationally, the Equality Act could extend protections similar to those of the municipal fairness ordinances. It’s been approved in the House of Representatives and is under consideration in the Senate.

Categories: News, State News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *