14 Names Added To KY Civil Rights Hall Of Fame

 14 names were added to the Kentucky Civil Rights Hall of Fame Wednesday afternoon.

Those inducted include Louis Benn, a philanthropist and retired manager of the old J.C. Penny Co. store in downtown Louisville. He passed away in 2005.

Richard Brown, a former member of the Kentucky Commission on Human employment, public accommodations, and financial transactions. He has been a longtime activist for civil and human rights in Owensboro since 1960.

George L. Burney, a civil rights activist in Louisville for 60 years dating back to 1954 when he and Bishop C. Eubank Tucker held a sit-in in the "whites-only" section that led to the integration of the Louisville bus terminal.

Leo Calderon, the founding Executive Director of the Office of Latino Student Affairs at Northern Kentucky University. He has worked to help Latino students feel welcomed by providing advice, programs and counseling for students.

Rev. Thurmond Coleman Sr., he was the pastor of the First Baptist Church Of Jefferson, Ky. He spent 16 years as the longest-serving member of the Kentucky Commission on Human Rights. He retired in 2008.

Martha Layne Collins, a former Kentucky governor. Martha was the first female governor in the south and Kentucky’s first and only female governor in state history.

Laken Cosby, he is a former civil rights activist working for rights through education, the courts, and community organizing. He became the first African American to chair the Jefferson County Board of Education in 1988.

Dolores Delahanty, for more than 50 years she has led national, state, and local efforts to improve the lives of women, children, and the poor. She was also part of the civil rights movement in Kentucky in the 1960’s.

Rev. Charles Elliot Jr., He has been the pastor of the King Solomon Missionary Baptist Church in Louisville for more than 50 years. He has devoted his life to teaching children that education and jobs are the tickets out of poverty.

Audrey Louise Ross Grievous has fought for equality for more than 60 years. Grievous endured several beatings and threats during her participation in sit-ins to integrate restaurants, department stores, and movie theatres.

Dr. Jesse Harris, he spent his career as an organizer for the United Food and Commercial Workers Union Local 227. He worked to protect low-income people, children, woman and minorities.

Carol Jackson, she has fought to end discrimination in hosing, employment, public accommodations, and financial transactions.

Priscilla Johnson, she was the chair of the Kentucky Commission on Human Rights for eight years. Under her leadership, the board ruled on hundreds of discrimination complaints and established civil rights education programs like the Kentucky Civil Rights Hall Of Fame.

Edgardo Nestor Mansilla, a native of Argentina, he worked to increase the influx of new immigrants from Bosnia, Cuba, and other countries.

Marcellus Mayes, he is the president of Metro Disability Coalition in Louisville. It’s a non-profit organization that promotes equality for people with disabilities.

Categories: Local News, News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *