Governor’s Derby Celebration will include art by Kentucky students

FRANKFORT, Ky. (WTVQ) — Students in 32 Kentucky classrooms painted blankets that will adorn picnic tables May 7 as part of the annual Governor’s Derby Celebration in downtown Frankfort.

The blankets, distributed to schools by the Kentucky Arts Council in early April, have become a celebrated tradition since the project started seven years ago, with hundreds of students participating each year. Ranging from fun and whimsical to intricate and detailed, the finished Derby blankets are placed atop picnic tables that have been converted into horses with an attached head and tail. These tables are on display on the lawn of the Old State Capitol in downtown Frankfort.

Blankets will be on display from 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. during the celebration and can be viewed online at

Participating schools are:

  • Access Program at Heritage, Ashland
  • Boyd County High School, Ashland
  • Breckinridge Elementary School, Lexington
  • Briarwood Elementary School, Bowling Green
  • Cardinal Valley Elementary School, Lexington
  • Central Elementary School, Barbourville
  • Cold Hill Elementary School, London
  • Crittenden County Elementary School, Marion
  • Crosby Middle School, Louisville
  • Elkhorn Elementary School, Frankfort
  • Elkhorn Middle School, Frankfort
  • Hazard High School, Hazard
  • Hendron-Lone Oak Elementary School, Paducah
  • Highland Middle School, Louisville
  • James A. Duff Elementary School, Eastern
  • Junction City Elementary School, Junction City
  • Leslie County High School, Hyden
  • Lincoln Elementary School, Franklin
  • Memorial Elementary School, Hardyville
  • Moore Traditional High School, Louisville
  • North Warren Elementary School, Smiths Grove
  • Ohio County Middle School, Hartford
  • Phelps Area Technology Center, Phelps
  • Sandy Hook Elementary School, Sandy Hook
  • Sayre Middle School, Lexington
  • Strode Station Elementary School, Winchester
  • Tully Elementary School, Louisville
  • Warren Central High School, Bowling Green
  • Warren East High School, Bowling Green
  • Whitesburg Middle School, Whitesburg
  • Wright Elementary School, Shelbyville
  • Yates Elementary School, Lexington
Categories: News, State News