FEMA approves more funding to help flood recovery


FRANKFORT, Ky. (WTVQ) – The Federal Emergency Management Agency has approved Gov. Andy Beshear’s request for individual assistance for an additional 22 Kentucky counties after the severe flooding between Feb. 27 and March 14, 2021.

“There will now be more resources available for Kentuckians and Kentucky communities to rebuild after the historic flooding,” Gov. Beshear said of FEMA’s Thursday evening approval. “We acted quickly to request federal assistance and appreciate FEMA quickly approving our request as our fellow Kentuckians continue to recover from the severe storms.”

- Advertisement -

Anderson, Fayette, Jessamine, Laurel, Madison, Warren and Woodford Counties are now eligible for individual assistance. Counties including  Boyd, Clark, Franklin, Greenup, Jackson, Knott, Lawrence, Leslie, Letcher, Lincoln, Morgan, Owsley, Perry, Pulaski and Rockcastle were previously eligible for public assistance and are now eligible for individual assistance.

These counties have been added to those included when President Joe Biden declared a major disaster declaration on April 23 at Gov. Beshear’s request to make federal funding available for Kentucky families and communities to recover.

“Thanks to FEMA for the approval of our add-on counties. This individual assistance will help hundreds of our citizens who were displaced by the record flooding,” said Michael Dossett, director of Kentucky Emergency Management. “Federal teams are already in the commonwealth and will be able to quickly begin the registration process in the additional areas.”

The president’s original declaration made federal funding available to assist individuals and communities recover from the severe storms, flooding and mudslides in Breathitt, Clay, Estill, Floyd, Johnson, Lee, Magoffin, Martin and Powell Counties.

People with questions or additional reports of flood damage should contact their local county emergency management agency.

This award is the largest for displaced citizens from damage to homes since May 2010 when a massive flooding event hit Kentucky and over 4,200 structures were affected. With this recent event, counties have reported more than 1,200 instances of damage to infrastructure, debris removal and emergency measures, costing over $72 million.

Assistance can include grants for temporary housing and home repairs, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses, and other programs to help individuals and business owners recover from the effects of the storms.

Residents and business owners in the designated counties in the Major Disaster Declaration can begin applying for assistance with FEMA by registering online at www.DisasterAssistance.gov, downloading the FEMA app or by calling 800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY: 800-462-7585 for the hearing and speech impaired. The toll-free telephone numbers are available from 7 a.m. to 11 p.m. (local time) seven days a week until further notice.

Prior to applying, individuals need to have their Social Security number, insurance information, damage information, bank information and contact information ready. Applicants should register with FEMA even if they have insurance. FEMA cannot duplicate insurance payments, but if someone is under-insured, they may receive help after their insurance claim is settled. Registering with FEMA is required for federal aid even if the applicant registered with another disaster relief organization or a community or church organization.