4 Fayette high school seniors named ‘Black History Makers of Today’

Azaria Howard
Azaria Howard
Amiyah Mays
Amiyah Mays
Savannah Stevens
Savannah Stevens
Charles Wilson
Charles Wilson



- Advertisement -






FAYETTE COUNTY, Ky. (Press Release/WTVQ) – McDonald’s has named four seniors in Fayette County Public Schools as 2021 Black History Makers of Today, a leadership honor that includes a $1,000 scholarship.

Congratulations to:

  • Azaria Howard of Frederick Douglass High School
  • Amiyah Mays of Paul Laurence Dunbar High School
  • Savannah Stevens of Bryan Station High School
  • Charles Wilson of Tates Creek High School

McDonald’s owners/operators in Greater Kentucky and Southern Indiana sponsor the program, which has saluted outstanding students for more than a decade.

They recognized several local seniors this year, including the four from FCPS, during Black History Month.

Video presentations:

Azaria at Douglass

Amiyah at Dunbar

Savannah at Bryan Station

Charles at Tates Creek

Participating high schools nominated these seniors. The criteria included:

  • Ability to uplift peers or the community through positive behavior or change;
  • Leadership through volunteering, support of peers, or other commendable acts;
  • Dedication to strengthening their culture and inviting others to learn more;
  • Maintenance of at least a 3.0 GPA; and
  • Ability to balance family, school, and other responsibilities such as a part-time job.