Gov. expands emergency declaration to more flooded counties


LONDON, Ky. (WTVQ) – Governor Andy Beshear extended an emergency declaration for flooded parts of Kentucky.

The declaration previously covered seven counties and three cities. Now, it has expanded to ten counties and seven cities in southeastern Kentucky.

- Advertisement -

Beshear gave a briefing Thursday in London to county judge-executives and emergency management officials on how to best respond to recent floods.

He’s asking anyone with damage to contact their county’s emergency manager as that will help determine how much aid affected areas receive.

Beshear and other local leaders also assessed the damage by air in a helicopter. He says the US Army Corp is providing sand bags and pumps to flood areas.

Beshear also issued an executive order implementing Kentucky’s price gouging laws to protect flood victims from being taken advantage of during the crisis.