Gov. Beshear Restores Board in Support of Workplace Safety

Gov. Beshear says the 12 member board will be committed to protecting workers in Kentucky.


Frankfort, Ky.– Gov. Andy Beshear announced he is reestablishing a state board that sets workplace safety regulations.

The 12-member Board is comprised of the following members:

- Advertisement -

Kenneth Nichter, of Louisville, representing industry, is a training consultant senior for Louisville Gas and Electric KY Utilities in the Generation and Transmission Technical Training Department. Nichter is a member of the KY Safety and Health Network and the World Safety Organization.

Mac Stone, of Georgetown, representing agriculture, produces organic produce and meats with his wife and extended family in Scott County for their CSA shareholder program and farmers markets.

Traci Byrd, of Murray, representing safety and health, is an assistant professor at Murray State University serving with the faculty of the Department of Occupational Safety and Health for eighteen years. She has a broad background in various safety and health areas specializing in emergency medical training, hazardous materials handling and emergency response.

Angela Bednark, of La Grange, representing industry, has worked in the automotive industry for over twelve years and is currently a safety engineer for Ford Motor Company at the Kentucky Truck Plant. Bednark serves on the Kentucky Safety and Health Network. She is a graduate from Samford University.

Caitlin Blair, of Louisville, representing labor, is the communications director for United Food and Commercial Workers Local 227. She is a graduate of Appalachian State with a master’s degree from George Washington University.

Hampton Henton, of Versailles, representing agriculture, is a farmer who runs a family farm growing corn, soybeans, tobacco, raising cattle and boarding horses. Under federal appointment, he previously served as the state director for the Farm Service Agency.

Keith Murt, of Paducah, representing industry, is the president of Murt Co., a mechanical contracting company. Murt is a member of Plumbers and Pipefitters 184 for more than 45 years.

John Stovall, of Louisville, representing labor, is the president of Teamsters Local 783. Stovall, a carpenter, has worked for Jefferson County Public Schools. He is a veteran of the Army Reserves.

James Kay, Sr., of Versailles, representing agriculture, is a lifelong Woodford Countian and farmer. Kay owns and manages KayDenton Farm and is a graduate of Woodford County High School and pursued further education in agriculture at the University of Kentucky.

Charles Stephen Sparrow, of Lawrenceburg, representing safety and health, is the former KYOSH compliance director for the Labor Cabinet’s Department of Workplace Standards. Sparrow currently works at the Kentucky Injury Prevention and Research Center at the University of Kentucky.

John Holbrook, of Sandy Hook, representing labor, is the business manager at Plumbers and Steamfitters Local Union 248 in Ashland. Holbrook is a graduate of Morehead State University.

William Carey, of Lawrenceburg, representing safety and health, is the director of safety for Gray Construction based out of Lexington. Carey served as construction partnership administrator for the Labor Cabinet. He currently serves on the AGC safety committee and is the former director for KY Safety and Health Network.