Fayette County added to counties under burn ban

Burn Ban Sign

LEXINGTON, Ky. (WTVQ) – The city of Lexington is now under an open burn ban.

The Lexington Fire Department announced, by order of the Lexington Fire Marshal, no open burning will be allowed until 7 a.m. on Monday, October 7th.

- Advertisement -

The fire department says the ban is being issued after 22 days without rain coupled with a low relative humidity, which together creates dangerous fire-weather conditions. Additionally, weather conditions are expected to remain dry in the coming week.

People are prohibited from setting any fire outdoors until after the ban expires. This includes refuse, cooking, and construction debris fires. All open burn permits are suspended for the duration of the ban. The ban applies to all residents and businesses in Fayette County, including those in rural and urban areas.

To report a fire, please use 911 in emergency situations or 859-231-5600 in non-emergent situations.

The following counties are also under an open burn ban: Estill, Floyd, Garrard, Jackson, Johnson, Knott, Knox, Laurel, Lee, Lincoln, Magoffin, Madison, Perry, Pike, Rockcastle, Whitley and Wolfe.