Morehead State joins University Center of Southern Kentucky partnership


MOREHEAD, Ky. (WTVQ)- Rep. Harold “Hal” Rogers and Governor Matt Bevin joined state and local officials, and leaders of Somerset Community College to announce four university partnerships that will allow local students to earn a bachelor’s degree through the new University Center of Southern Kentucky in Somerset.

The university partners include: Morehead State University (MSU), Western Kentucky University (WKU), Eastern Kentucky University (EKU), and the University of Kentucky (UK).

- Advertisement -

The new University Center of Southern Kentucky (UCSK) will open with the Fall 2019 semester on the campus of Somerset Community College (SCC), allowing third and fourth-year students to continue pursuing their degrees close to home.

The University Center of Southern Kentucky is one of only a handful of collaborative institutions of its kind nationwide. Serving as an important link for community development and individual opportunities, the University Center provides partnerships, educational programs, an interactive “hub” for student use and student learning resource support services.

Students will be eligible for enrollment in the Fall 2019 semester for MSU, EKU, and WKU. Degrees through UK will be available in the Spring 2020 semester. Program details will be announced by each university as they continue working in coordination with the University Center of Southern Kentucky.

After completing a two-year degree at SCC, students will be able to choose from the partnering university of their choice and have access to student support services to complete a four-year degree at the Somerset campus.

For more information, contact Dr. Dan Connell, MSU assistant vice president for regional education and outreach at 606-783-2612 or or Trent Pool, director of the University Center of Southern Kentucky at