Mayor Linda Gorton announces new leadership team


LEXINGTON, Ky. (WTVQ) – Lexington Mayor Linda Gorton has named most of the commissioners who will lead the city’s government departments.

The mayor’s office announced Susan Speckert is the new Commissioner of Law. She will start in February.

- Advertisement -

Speckert currently heads Fayette Alliance and has served as general counsel to the Kentucky Horse Racing Commission.

Returning Commissioners include:

• Geoff Reed as Commissioner of General Services. Geoff also served as Chief of Staff under Mayor Jim Gray, and has extensive experience in local, state and federal government.

• Ken Armstrong, a former Assistant Police Chief and Director of Code Enforcement, as Commissioner of Public Safety.

• Bill O’Mara, a leading member of the City’s financial team for many years, as Commissioner of Finance.

• Chris Ford, a former Councilmember with a background in city government and local nonprofit agencies, as Social Services Commissioner.

• Aldona Valicenti as Chief Information Officer. Valicenti has extensive experience in the public and private sector in information technology. Valicenti was the first CIO for the State of Kentucky.

According to Gorton’s office, she plans to advertise for two positions, Commissioner of Planning, Preservation and Development, and Commissioner of Environmental Quality and Public Works.

In the meantime, Chief Administrative Officer Sally Hamilton will serve as acting commissioner in Planning and Charles Martin will continue as Acting Commissioner of Public Works.

The appointments and reappointments of all commissioners, the Chief Information Officer and the Chief Administrative Officer are subject to confirmation by the Urban County Council.

Those hearings are set for January 17.