Two Fayette schools police officers recognized for service

Source: Fayette County Public Schools

LEXINGTON, Ky. (WTVQ) – The Kentucky Association of School Resource Officers has recognized Eileen Welch and Myron Pedroche for their service for Fayette County Public Schools.

Welch, who retired this month after serving for 35 years, was selected as the 2021 Kentucky SRO of the Year.

- Advertisement -

She will be the first woman to be given this statewide honor.

Along with Welch, Pedroche was named the Central Kentucky Region SRO of the Year.

Both school resource officers will receive their awards in late July during the associations conference’ in Lousiville.

Welch retired as an officer at Henry Clay High School. She had previously been acknowledged with the Lexington Rotary Club Service Over Self Award in 2019.

According to FCPS Police Chief Martin Schafer, “She has a skillset that is unlike any officer we have, and her impact on students is unequalled. She truly cares about the well-being of students to include education and character development.”

Schafer also said of Welch, “She has spent countless personal time and money mentoring and guiding the students at HCHS. She will be missed, but her impact on students and our school district will remain for many years.”

Pedroche has been based at Paul Laurence Dunbar High School since 2015. Additionally, he has served numerous elementary schools in that area.

Source: Fayette County Public Schools