Beta Clubs at Cowan & Hayes win 2021 national service award


FAYETTE COUNTY, Ky. (WTVQ) – The Beta Clubs at Brenda Cowan Elementary and Edythe J. Hayes Middle School are 2021 All Star Service Hour Award winners.

Only 39 schools received this national honor, securing a digital badge, All Star service pins for each member, and a plaque.

- Advertisement -

Clubs earn this recognition by spending an average of 50 to 75 hours per member serving their school, community, and state. 

In addition, Brenda Cowan students excelled in Kentucky’s inaugural elementary state convention earlier this semester. Among the highlights:

Math / fourth grade

  • 2nd place: Brandon Tedja

Marketing & Communications

  • 3rd place (team): Nathan Joyce, Elijah Peters, Colston Trimble, and Carter Woltenberg

Three Dimensional Design

  • 3rd place: Ashton Flueck

Language Arts / fifth grade

  • 5th place: Naomi Phwandaphwanda


  • 5th place: Asha Oldham