LexArts gets new president and CEO, eight elected to board

Ame Sweetall
LEXINGTON, Ky. (WTVQ/Press Release)Ame Sweetall has been named President and CEO of LexArts.
Sweetall joined LexArts in February 2020 in an interim role and transitioned into President and CEO in October.
Sweetall brings extensive nonprofit experience coupled with a strategic business focus. Her background in fund development and nonprofit leadership has focused on nonprofit marketing and fundraising issues, including serving for ten years in the Office of Fund Development at the Kentucky Children’s Hospital and University of Kentucky Pediatrics.
Sweetall and her husband, Dave, own an integrated marketing and consulting firm offering a combination of design, advertising, marketing, website development and promotional advertising. They are the parents of two grown children, Annabelle and Jack.

“The Board is extremely pleased Ame has accepted this leadership role with LexArts,” said Board Chair, Greg Padgett of Padgett Construction. “Her performance as interim during an extremely challenging period made it obvious that she would be an excellent choice for the position.  We look forward to her leadership in growing the positive impact LexArts has on Lexington and Central Kentucky.”

Berry Case Deans Farmer
Goodman Hendrickson Plomin Ray
LexArts also announces the election of eight new members to its Board of Directors: Jessica Berry, YMCA of Central Kentucky; Lauren Case, Fayette County Public Schools; Michelle Deans, MCM CPA; Bill Farmer, Jr., Farmer’s Jewelry; Maeve Goodman, Mt. Brilliant Farm; Stefan Hendrickson, Dean Dorton; Kathy Plomin, Lexington-Fayette Urban County Council; and Rachel Ray, Lexington Children’s Theatre.
Padgett added, “LexArts is honored to welcome these exemplary individuals to our board. Each brings unique experiences and perspectives from both their professional lives and their work in the community that will enhance our efforts to create a great American city inspired by the arts.  We are thrilled to have the guidance and direction of these exceptional leaders.”

In addition to Padgett, other members of the Executive Committee include: John Cioci, WesBanco, Immediate Past Chair; Ame Sweetall, President & CEO, LexArts;  Michelle Deans, MCM CPAs, Treasurer and Finance Committee Chair; Colin Doherty, Hook Interactive, Vice-Chair, Development Committee; Emmy Hartley, Cornett, Secretary; Jon Stewart, Kentucky Employers’ Mutual Insurance, Vice-Chair, Grants Committee;  Robin Thomerson, Dinsmore, Facilities Committee Chair; Camden Skidmore, Republic Bank, Nominating Committee Chair; and Heather Lyons, City of Lexington Mayor’s Office Representative.

- Advertisement -
Continuing LexArts Board members for FY 2021 include: Brent Bruner, EOP Architects; David Bugg, Toyota Motor Manufacturing Kentucky; Julia O. Cauthen, Julia Cauthen Bloodstock; Ken Gish, K&L Gates; Enrique Gonzalez, Artist; Gina Greathouse, Commerce Lexington; Steve Jennings, Crowe; Catherine Ladd Kenneally, Cross Gate Gallery; Ana Maldonado-Coomer, Work + Play; Christa Marrillia, Keeneland; Jeff Murphy, Catholic Health Initiatives; Jill Hall Rose, Rose Law Office and Don Hall GM Supercenter (Ashland); Chad Rudzik, Bank of the Bluegrass; Yajaira West, PNC Bank.