Dozens from region make National Merit semifinalist list

HANDOUT IMAGE Another of the National Merit Scholarship Program logos Mon Sep 18 11:17:48 -0600 2017 1505755062 FILENAME: 763176.jpg

FAYETTE COUNTY, Ky. (WTVQ) – The Eastern Kentucky region boasts dozens of semifinalists ( 21 KY Semifinalists-NatlMeritProgram ) in the 2021 National Merit Scholarship Program, including 35 from Fayette County Public Schools.

These students are among some 16,000 outstanding high school seniors who will compete for over $30 million in awards next spring. From Fayette County are:

- Advertisement -

From Henry Clay: Hayden Caldwell, Elias Dyer, Megan Ewing, Lily Gardner, Lawrence Goodwin, Lia Jacobs, Irene Kim, Robert Knight, Catherine Lucier, Elizabeth Moore, Jasir Rahman, Hannah Whaley, and Evan Winkler

From Paul Laurence Dunbar: Sarah Albrecht, Sadie Bograd, Graham Brown, Benjamin Chen, Tatum Colvin, Saisha Dhar, Emma Falluji, Jackson Gabbard, Benjamin Guan, Grant Hayden, Noah Katz, Dylan Li, Fernando Macchiavello Cauvi, JoonWoo Park, Khalid Rashad, Gabriella Staykova, Tharanie Subramaniam, Aditya Sundarrajan, Zach Susini, Lohith Tummala, Wendy Wei, and Nancy Zhang

About 1.5 million juniors in some 21,000 high schools entered the 2021 competition by taking the 2019 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test, which serves as an initial screening.

The nationwide pool of semifinalists, representing less than 1 percent of seniors, includes the highest-scoring entrants in each state. Typically, over 90 percent of semifinalists advance in February, and about half of those finalists ultimately receive scholarships based on their skills, accomplishments, and potential for success in rigorous college studies.

The winner announcements come in four waves from April through July, including awards for corporate-sponsored scholarships, $2,500 National Merit scholarships, and college-sponsored scholarships.

The National Merit Scholarship Corp., businesses, and higher education institutions underwrite these awards.