‘Kentucky Saves Week’ celebrated in Frankfort


FRANKFORT, Ky. (WTVQ) – Officials and students across the state celebrated “Kentucky Saves Week” in Frankfort on Thursday.

Governor Andy Beshear, the Public Protection Cabinet (PPC), Department of Financial Institutions (DFI), nonprofit organization and students gathered in the Capitol Rotunda.

- Advertisement -

Beshear proclaimed Kentucky Saves Week from February 24-29, 2020, encouraging all Kentuckians to commit to saving money.

“We know that personal savings are a key to financial stability for Kentuckians of all ages and all income levels,” Beshear said. “Our administration is committed to building strong financial futures for our people and our state, by promoting good personal practices and by protecting consumers from scams and fraud.”

“The Kentucky Saves campaign is a statewide effort to promote healthy savings habits for Kentuckians,” said Public Protection Cabinet Secretary Kerry Harvey. “The Department of Financial Institutions has been a partner in Kentucky Saves Week since 2009.”

Deputy Commissioner Justin Malcolm Burse represented DFI at the event. Other key partners at the celebration included the University of Kentucky Cooperative Extension Service and the Kentucky Jump$tart Coalition for Personal Financial Literacy®. Both organizations sponsored contests to encourage Kentucky’s students to save.

David Perkis recognized finalists in the Kentucky Jump$tart Coalition’s annual poster contest. First-place winners each received a $50 prize, made possible by the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis – Louisville Branch. These middle-school students creatively illustrated this year’s theme, “Go on a Savings Safari.”

  • 1st Place, 6th Grade: Maria Ruiz Perez of West Hardin Middle School (Cecilia)
  • 1st Place, 7th Grade: Cheyenne Crowley of Webster County Area Technology Center (Dixon)
  • 1st Place, 8th Grade: Avery Wiefering of Highlands Middle School (Fort Thomas)
  • 2nd Place, 8th Grade: Brookelyn Whitledge of Webster County Area Technology Center (Dixon)
  • 3rd Place, 8th Grade: Avery Hagedorn of Highlands Middle School (Fort Thomas)

Kelly May, Senior Extension Associate with the UK Cooperative Extension Service, recognized winners of the annual Piggy Bank Design Contest. Twelve state winners were selected:

  • Olivia Adams, 4th Grade (Pike County)
  • Molly Blackburn, 6th Grade (Pike County)
  • Heidi Castle, 6th Grade (Clark County)
  • Jazlynn Courtney-Reed, 1st Grade (Franklin County)
  • Gracie Hayes, 10th Grade (Allen County)
  • Carleen Kate Meyers, 5th Grade (Russell County)
  • Abagail Morgan, 6th Grade (LaRue County)
  • Kaley Page, 4th Grade (Jefferson County)
  • John Ryan Pounds, 1st Grade (Calloway County)
  • Jace Prescott, 4th Grade (Marshall County)
  • Alexandra Rapp, 10th Grade (Kenton County)
  • Akira Tanner, 4th Grade (Daviess County)

The winning piggy banks and posters were displayed in the Capitol throughout February.

To learn more about Kentucky Saves Week, visit http://kentuckysaves.org. Follow the Public Protection Cabinet on Facebook and Twitter to receive savings tips throughout the week.