Water districts ordered to submit information on losses


FRANKFORT, Ky. (AP) – Kentucky regulators have ordered 12 water utilities to submit information on how water loss is recorded.

The Lexington Herald-Leader reports the move comes as the utilities are losing over one-third of their treated water due to aging and crumbling infrastructure. Some customers have reported problems with quality and reliability.

- Advertisement -

The order affects 10 water districts, a water association, and a division of one investor-owned utility. Most serve eastern or southern Kentucky. They include Big Sandy Water District; Cawood Water District; Estill County Water District; Farmdale Water District; Hyden-Leslie County Water District; Kentucky American Water Company in Jackson and Rockcastle counties; Milburn Water District; Morgan County Water District; North Manchester Water Association, Inc.; Rattlesnake Ridge Water District; Southern Water and Sewer District; and the West Carroll Water District.