McConnell wins another term as GOP leader

Courtesy: U.S. Senate

WASHINGTON (AP) – Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell has been elected to another term as GOP leader.

He won a new term by acclimation Wednesday.

- Advertisement -

The rest of the GOP line-up below the Kentucky Republican is expected to shuffle slightly.

Senator John Cornyn of Texas, the GOP whip, is being forced out by term limits. That allows Senator John Thune of South Dakota to move up to the No. 2 spot.

Senator John Barrasso of Wyoming and Senator Roy Blunt of Missouri are expected to take over the third- and fourth-ranking spots.

Republicans are poised to elect their first woman to leadership in almost a decade.

Nebraska Senator Deb Fischer is running for vice chair of the conference. She faces GOP Senator Joni Ernst of Iowa.