Hoover names team to help transition to Republican rule


FRANKFORT, Ky. (AP) – Incoming House Speaker Jeff Hoover has tapped a former Democrat speaker and the state’s longest serving GOP legislator to lead the transition to Republican rule for the first time in nearly a century.

Republican Jeff Hoover announced on Thursday that he appointed former House Speaker Bobby Richardson and former Republican Rep. Danny Ford to be the co-chairmen of his transition team.

- Advertisement -

Republicans won a majority in the state House of Representatives last week for the first time since 1920. Hoover appointed three Democrats to the committee, including Sen. Julian Carroll, who is a former governor and speaker; former Rep. Bill Lear and former Rep. Jim LeMaster. Republicans include Sen. Julie Raque Adams, former Rep. John Vincent and former Rep. Alecia Webb-Edgington.


Copyright 2016 The Associated Press.