Students, schools recognized for energy projects

Kentucky Energy & Environment Cabinet

FRANKFORT, Ky. (WTVQ) – On Friday, the Energy and Environment Cabinet (EEC) announced student energy projects from six Kentucky school districts have received top honors from the Kentucky National Energy Education Development (NEED) Project, and three student energy teams have earned national NEED awards.

Energy projects from 31 student energy teams were evaluated by an independent panel of educators and energy experts on student leadership, energy knowledge and community involvement.  The 2016 awards were presented to outstanding and first-year entry project four categories.

- Advertisement -

Award recipients in the elementary-level category were Lyon County Elementary for Most Outstanding Project of the Year, and Shepherdsville Elementary in Bullitt County for Rookie of the Year.

In the junior-level category, Sayre Middle School in Lexington received the state’s Most Outstanding Project of the Year award and was also selected as the national Junior Runner-Up. Mason County Middle received the state award for Rookie of the Year and took the national Junior Rookie of the Year award.

Lloyd Memorial High School, located in Erlanger-Elsmere Independent School District, received the senior-level Most Outstanding Project of the Year award and was named the national senior school of the year.

First-year rookie category winners were Shepherdsville Elementary, Mason County Middle School and Hardin County Early College and Career Center for the senior level.

The awards were presented to students, teachers and honored guests during the 2016 Youth Summit and Awards Luncheon April 28 in Frankfort.

Details about the Kentucky NEED Project can be found online: