4 more Kentucky counties are ‘work ready’


FRANKFORT, Ky. (AP) — Three northern Kentucky counties and one in central Kentucky have been designated by the state as having a workforce that ready for commerce and industry.

Gov. Steve Beshear this week announced that Boone, Campbell, Hardin and Kenton counties are Kentucky Work Ready Communities. He also said Fleming, Grant, Johnson, Martin, Ohio, Perry and Trimble counties are Kentucky Work Ready Communities in Progress, meaning they are close to meeting the "work ready" criteria.

- Advertisement -

A total of 16 counties have been designated as Kentucky Work Ready Communities since certification began in February 2012. Another 33 are "in progress."

Kentucky Workforce Investment Board Chairman Ed Holmes says 30 or 40 counties are in the process of applying for certification.


©2014 Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.