Austin assessed 4-stroke penalty at PGA Championship

Set Text Size SmallSet Text Size MediumSet Text Size LargeSet Text Size X-Large
Share
Updated: 8/09/2013 11:50 am

Rochester, NY (Sports Network) - Woody Austin was assessed a 4-stroke penalty at the PGA Championship Friday for having 15 clubs in his bag.

The Sanderson Farms Championship winner discovered he had an extra club in his bag while on the third hole and promptly reported himself to a rules official after completing his par putt.

The penalty, which under rule 4-4 adds two strokes for each hole played with an extra club to a maximum of four strokes, dropped Austin to 4-over for the tournament.

Austin made up some of the penalty with back-to-back birdies at the fifth and sixth, but then bogeyed the ninth to fall back to 3-over and currently sits a stroke above the projected cut line at the turn.

Share
Solid Blue News
Young The "Ultimate Teammate"
What does Cal's statement mean to Young as he turns pro? Video Video

Inergize Digital This site is hosted and managed by Inergize Digital.

WTVQ.com supports children's privacy rights. All persons under the age of 13 MUST have parental permission to use this website and direct parental supervision is strongly recommended.